Building My Website – Phase 2

I’ve been working on my site now for a few weeks (leadersleavinglegacies.com), but I would say that I have been consistent for the past week or so. It has truly evolved. Please let me know what you think. I am completely open to advice or suggestions and other really cool tools. Now I’m thinking that I should have taken before and after shots so that you could have seen my former blue and gray boring design. I’ve added much more color and functionality and will continue to do so.

I’ve run into a few snags along the way, lost my Home page…but thankfully found a way to get it back. I’m currently struggling with the “out of the box” WordPress blog functionality. At this point, I’m almost tempted to create a separate blog site and link to my current domain. However, I am going to tinker with it for a few more days, and check out few more support forums before moving forward. There are quite a few (e.g. cyberchimps.com). Truthfully, the built in functionality that I can get from pre-designed blog themes will most likely speed up the process, rather than having to add/build additional components using Plug-ins. Of course, it will cost more. If you weren’t aware, WordPress offers an extensive number of Plug-ins for those designing their on sites. This would be those installing the software from WordPress.org not using the WordPress.com service (supported by WordPress).

I guess when I really think about it, I’ve been able to accomplish quite a bit in a month. I’ve given myself about a month in a half prior to launching Phase 1 of the site. Hence, this blog and others were written pre-launch as test cases. This one is also a personal journal or should I say “journey”. I’ve also learned a lot about more about the latest and greatest innovations going on in the web development industry. One extremely important thing to note (not sure if I mentioned it before, but it’s worth mentioning again) is that when you do decide to build your site, ensure that your theme works on desktops as well as mobile devices. Also note that if you change CSS code for the main site, ensure that you make updates (as needed) to the mobile view. I’ve visited many sites over the past week and some are pretty cool, but not always mobile.

Stay tuned since Phase 2 of development is going to include more bells and whistles for my blog page(s) as well as more videos. I enjoy adding the “wow” factor because it’s probably when I’m having the most fun during this process. I’m pretty sure that my site will launch while I’m in Phase 2 since I’m pretty excited and don’t mind sharing work in progress. It’s the pesky code changes that can be pretty cumbersome. I’m actually starting to memorize the Hex Color Chart codes (click Hex Color Chart to access file downloaded from google) that I’m using across the site (feeling geeky). So far I haven’t messed up the CSS, and that’s a plus! More to come…

2 thoughts on “Building My Website – Phase 2

  1. Hi Sabrina – So now I’m trying to manage two sites and can’t decide which one to keep! I think WordPress is an awesome tool for those starting out as well as those that are experienced. Great tool!

Leave a Reply

